Catholic Foundation Annual Golf Classic


The Catholic Foundation's 17th Annual Golf Classic will be held on Monday, May 21, 2018 at the Oklahoma City Golf and Country Club. You can register on line and pay on-line separately. Consider supporting this great event which again benefits our Catholic Schools and Catholic Education Endowments at the Foundation.

Register your Golf Team or Sponsorship
Learn more about sponsorship and player benefits
Register your golfer information including shirt size and handicap

Thanks to all of our 2017 Sponsors -- we couldn't have done it without you!!!

The Catholic Foundation’s 16th Annual Golf Classic was a great day of golf, fellowship and dedication to support of our Catholic Schools and Catholic Education in the Archdiocese.  The event was held on May 22, 2017 at the Oklahoma City Golf & Country Club. The Golf Classic sported 192 golfers in both morning and afternoon sessions.

The day was almost perfect with little wind, moderate temperature and an occasional sprinkle of rain. In addition to the golf played, a lunch, wine & cheese gathering, silent & live auctions and awards dinner were held. New this year in conjunction with the silent auction was a Dutch Auction held to benefit specific school needs at 11 of the Catholic schools in the Archdiocese.  School needs ranged from new drinking fountains to walkie-talkies to robotic projects. From the generous help of golfers and volunteers, most all of these projects will be funded this year.  The total net proceeds of the Golf Classic is projected to be over $80,000 with over $50,000 going to the 22 Catholic Schools and remainder going to Matching Grants for Catholic Education Endowment Funds at the Foundation.  The Foundation's goal is to maintain quality education at all of our Catholic Schools and to provide endowment spendable income to both schools and parish education funds within the Archdiocese.  In the last 16 Golf Classic events, the Catholic Foundation has raised over $500,000 cumulative for the Endowment Funds.

New Golf Flights were added in 2017 and they were named after 6 beloved Catholic saints:  Saint Andrew, Saint Clare, Saint Christopher, Saint Lawrence, Saint Rita and Saint Sebastian. Smaller number of teams competing allowed us to award trophies and prizes to 6 first place flight winners and 6 second place flight winners.  The flight 1st and 2nd place winners were allowed to designate a school of their choice to receive unrestricted cash grants to the school.  

The Father Kirk Larkin All-Parish Team 1st Place Traveling Trophy was won by Christ the King Church Team of Jim Feighny, Steven Zwinggi, Corey Edwards and Guy Turlip. New for 2017 were 6 Flights named after great saints of the Catholic Church.  Winning teams were able to direct a Flight Grant to the Catholic School of their choice as part of their winning prize (names in parenthesis are the schools receiving Flight Grants). The low scores from all six flights competed for the Archbishop’s Traveling Trophy and additional grant money for their schools.  The winners of this competition was a tie between the St. Andrew Flight First Place Team (St. Charles Borromeo School) and the St. Sebastian Flight First Place Team (Bishop McGuinness). In the morning session, the first place team members of the St. Andrew Flight were Daniel Stith Jr, Joe Vahlberg, Brian Vahlberg and Matt Slatnick (St. Charles Borromeo School). The second place team members of the St. Andrew Flight were Hugh O’Hara, Nick O’Hara, Brian Yost and Brent Cole (Christ the King School). The first place team members of the St. Clare Flight were Kevin Karpe, Aaron Jack, David Cummings and Mark Detten (St. Mary School, Ponca City).  The second place team members of the St. Clare Flight were Rev. John Metzinger, Bob Metzinger, Matt Atyia and Brent Benn (St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School).

In the afternoon session, the first place team members of the St. Christopher Flight were Chuck Lawrence, Andy Lawrence, David Lawrence and Dick Hefton (St. Joseph School, Enid). The second place team members of the St. Christopher Flight were Shannon Begnel, Bryan Bagby, Rich Stupansky and Kyle Winston (Mount St. Mary). The first place team members of the St. Lawrence Flight were Jim Feighny, Steven Zwinggi, Corey Edwards and Guy Turlip (Christ the King School).  The second place team members of the St. Lawrence Flight were John Lampert, Aaron Steffens, Brad Schultz and Doug Beachum (Mount St. Mary). The first place team members of the St. Sebastian Flight were David Morton, Gary Savely, Steve Jantz and Pat Bates (Bishop McGuinness).  The second place team members of the St. Sebastian Flight were Jeff Saxton, Michael Lawter, Ed Lawter and John Feary (St. John Nepomuk School). The first place team members of the St. Rita Flight were Marlene Sams, Louise Meek, Mindy Wright and Benny Clay (St. Eugene School). The second place team members of the St. Rita Flight were Justin Steckman, Matt Piercy, Kevin Pierce and Trey Welker (St. James School). 

In the Skill’s Contest, the winner of the Closest to the Pin Competition was Rev. Rusty Hewes, winner of the Men’s Longest Drive Competition was Joe Vahlberg, winner of the Women’s Longest Drive Competition was Rebecca Taylor and winner of the Longest Putt Competition was John Hardwick.  Dennis Ottis won the 6th Hole Contest prize of a custom fit Titleist Driver. Preston Williams won the 50/50 contest and designated St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School the recipient of the prize. There were no winners for the Hole-in-One contests for either a new 2017 Buick Encore Compact Sport Utility from Rick Jones Buick-GMC or for a Rolex Watch from B.C. Clark Jewelers. 

Chairman of the Golf Classic Committee was Danny Stith. The event committee included Lori Carter, Jim Feighny, Brian Jackson, Kevin Karpe, Wade Kovash, Butch Meibergen, Michael Ray, Sharon Robinson, Barbara Thornhill, David Zuech, Randi Stith, Jeanne Bohan, and Barney Semtner. 

The Flight Sponsors for the 2017 Golf Classic are MidFirst Bank and Wealth Management Group. The Golf Ball Sponsors are Saint Katharine Drexel Retirement Center and Wells Fargo Advisors. The Awards Dinner Sponsor is Bank of Oklahoma. The Golf Shirt Sponsor is Lawter & Associates. The Goodie Bag Sponsor is Gallagher Benefit Services. The Golf Hat Sponsor is Butch & Margie Meibergen.  Our Double Eagle Sponsors are Gerald E. Kelley LLC, Longhorn Service Company, Charles L. & Jaimee R. Zorio, Maguire-O’Hara Construction, Heartland Mobility, Alan & Kathy Aneshansley and George Browning. 

The Premium Hole Sponsors are Anderson & House, BancFirst, Mary & Tom Beadles, Crowe & Dunlevy, Doug & Tish Eason, Lisa & Bentley Edmonds MD, Eide Bailly, Ralph Fredrickson, Good Shepherd School at Mercy, Rev. James Greiner, John & Seyan Hefner, Charles Lawrence MD, LCG Associates, Todd & Andrea Lechtenberger, Nash & Co. CPA, Peters & Chandler, P.C., St. Elizabeth Ann Seton School and United Mechanical.

The Classic Hole Sponsors are ADG, All Saints School, Anonymous-On Behalf of St. Gregory’s U., Arvest Bank, Bishop McGuinness Catholic High School, Catapult Learning, Catholic Charities, Catholic Mutual Group, Stephen A. Chastain, DDS, Dr. Glen Ashmore & Dental Depot, Eickhof Columberia, Holy Trinity School—Okarche, InvesTrust, Ken & Karen Kenworthy, Paycom Payroll, LLC, Tim & Kathy Payne, Rocket Color, Inc., Sacred Heart School—El Reno, Charles Schwab and Co., Smith & Kernke, St. John Nepomuk School, Saints Peter & Paul School, St. Ann’s Retirement Center, Surgery Center of Enid and Trinity Publications.

In-Kind donations have been provided by Cory’s Audio-Visual Services, Rick Jones Buick GMC, Tyler Signs and B.C. Clark Jewelers. Special Donors include Aetna, Christ the King School, Delta Dental, Danny & Jeannie Stith, Doug & Tish Eason, Barbara Hatfield, Sharon & Brent Robinson, Tony Tyler and UNUM.